Three CMs are Opposing AP Special Status

Three CMs are Opposing AP Special Status



[ads2] Union Minister Ashok Gajapathi Raju informed three Chief Ministers have been firmly opposing Special Status to Andhra Pradesh on the time when Centre is contemplating the implementation of the promise. He opined the present scenario mayn’t have arisen had if Congress included Particular Standing in AP Reorganisation Act, 2014.

As the special status issue turned a burning topic in the state, Andhra Intellectuals’ Forum president Chalasani Srinivas today launched an indefinite hunger-strike in Anantapuramu town demanding that the Centre honour its promise made to the state on the eve of the bifurcation.

All these developments are taking place in the wake of recent statements in Parliament by some Union Ministers that according special status to AP was “not possible”.

Speaking to reporters at his hometown Vizianagaram, Raju, the Union Civil Aviation Minister, said the current situation would not have arisen had the special category status issue been incorporated in the AP Reorganisation Act-2014.

“Finance Minister Arun Jaitley spoke in Parliament saying injustice was done to AP (due to bifurcation). The Centre is also considering the special status issue but three Chief Ministers are opposing it,”.

Even 14th Finance Fee report which hinted AP could have a income deficit of Rs 23,000 crore within the subsequent 5 years, whereas Telangana would have income surplus of Rs 1.18 lakh crore.

Mr.Raju told AP could emerge as a premier state once again only if Centre offers enough financial assistance. He warned TDP Leaders that few exterior forces are attempting to interrupt the alliance with BJP for political positive factors. Raju said.

Even “Coming out of the NDA will only be detrimental to the interests of the state,” Naidu reportedly said.  The Chief Minister reportedly said the TDP would continue to be a part in the NDA government at the Centre and would not severe ties with the BJP.